Pro Hart Outback Art Prize

The Pro Hart Outback Art Prize is an annual acquisitive competition. The prize showcases work in any media which reflects the spirit and diversity of the Australian Outback.

The prize consists of an Acquisitive First Prize, a Non-Acquisitive Second Prize and a People’s Choice Award with a total prize pool of $23,000.

If you have any queries, please contact:


Key Dates 2020:

  • Entries Open: Monday, 23rd March
  • Entries Close: Friday, 29th May
  • Finalist Notification:  TBC
  • Artworks Delivered: TBC
  • Exhibition Opening: TBC


Please note: The 2020 Pro Hart Outback Art Prize will still go ahead. Due to current changes with the Gallery due to COVID-19, we are unable to confirm the final exhibition date, but we can confirm that this will be first exhibition to open once the Gallery resumes normal operating hours. We will keep all entrants informed of the final exhibition date via email.

We will open and accept entries from Monday, 23rd March; there is a possibility that entries will remain open for a longer period of time if the exhibition is delayed.

If you enter your work into the Pro Hart Outback Art Prize and decide to ‘withdraw’ your work, or your work is sold before the exhibition, the entry fee will still remain non-refundable.


Frequently asked questions:

Is there a theme?

Yes. All entries must address the theme of the 'Australian Outback'

How many artworks am I allowed to submit?

Each artist may enter up to two works.

These entries must be original work and completed within the last 12 months.

Does it cost to enter?

Yes. A non-refundable entry fee of $45 per artwork applies. (This amount includes GST)

What are the size limitations on entries?

There are no size limitations for the Pro Hart Outback Art Prize, aside from the physical limits of the Gallery.

However, artists may like to consider the cost of transporting works if selected. Please contact the Gallery if you have concerns regarding the size of your work.



Submit your entry: